

Special District Information and Candidate Form Packets

Special Districts serve limited areas and have governing boards that accomplish legislatively assigned essential functions using public funds.

On odd years, elections are held for Special District seats and City government seats. Candidates must file for their seats or be appointed by the district.

There are many Special Districts in our County. The County works with the District Clerks and City Clerks to process candidate filings. The filing process is as follows:

- Candidate obtains form packet (link below) or from the Special District Office
- Candidate completes Declaration page and obtains at least 5 signatures of active eligible voters in the District on the Petition page
- Candidate or District provides Declaration page and original Petition page to Clerk's Office for verification of candidate qualifications and petition signatures
- o Candidate files candidacy paperwork with the Special District by the filing deadline

Additional Instructions and details are found on the forms (select green link below):

Special District Candidate Filing Packet

Filing Deadline - 5:00 p.m. March 21 or* 5:00 p.m. September 5 (*see district list below)

Special District Write-In Candidate Filing Packet

Filing Deadline - 5:00 pm March 28 or* 5:00 pm September 12

City Candidate have their own filing packets which will be available here at a later date

Filing Window – 8:00 am August 25 – 5:00 p.m. September 5 City Write-In Candidate Filing Window - August 25 – September 5

Campaign Finance Information for Candidates Campaign Finance 101 | VoteIdaho.Gov

Special Districts with May 20, 2025 Elections

(5:00 p.m. March 21, 2025 candidate filing deadline)

Lost River Highway District Commissioner (Subdistrict 3)

Lost River Medical Center District Trustees (Zones in Custer & Butte Counties) North Custer Hospital District Trustees Salmon River Clinic Hospital District Trustees

Mackay Library District Trustees
Stanley Community Library District Trustees

Open Seats in May 2025

District Name	Current Office Holders	Seat	Term	Expiration
North Custer Hospital Dist.	Stephanie Strand	Trustee	6	2025
Sharlene Miller	Raynae Chamberlain	Trustee	6	2025
611 Clinic Rd./PO Box 357	Teila Leuzinger	Trustee	6	2027
Challis, ID 83226	Shelbie Bryant	Trustee	6	2027
smiller@cahcinc.com	Betsy Doughty	Trustee	6	2027
208-879-2883	Robert Boren	Trustee	6	2029
	J.D. Bennetts	Trustee	6	2029
Lost River Medical Center	Travis Andersen	Moore Precinct	6	2025
Lacy Thorngren	Jared Lambson	So Custer Co	6	2025
551 Highland Dr./PO Box 145	David Callister	Howe Prec	6	2025
Arco, ID 83213	Cindy Kimball	So Custer Co	6	2025/2027
lbetzer@lrlmctr.org	Hal Jardine	Arco At Large	6	2027
208-252-7655 Ext. 714	Howard Wood	Arco 1	6	2025/2029
fax 208-527-3105	Sherlene Traughber	Arco 2	6	2025/2029
	pink means appointed, so up this election and then complete original term (I.C. 39-1329)			
Salmon River Clinic Hospital Dist.	David Kimpton	Truotoo F	6	2025
Amy Klingler	Gary Gadwa	Trustee 5 Trustee 1	6	2025
110 Niece Ave./PO Box 129	Maryellen Easom	Trustee 2	6	2027
Stanley, ID 83278	David Pinney	Trustee 3	6	2027
srec@mtecom.net	David Lesser	Trustee 4	6	2029
208-774-3565	Dan Crabtree	Trustee 6	6	2025
200-114-3303	Donna Hoitsma	Trustee 7	6	2025
	Doma Hotsina	Trustee 1		2023
Mackay Library Dist.	Lesley Szabo	Trustee	4	2027
Tina Bethoulle	Judith Anderson	Trustee	4	2029
320 Capital Ave./PO Box 355	Cora Lockie	Trustee	4	2025
Mackay, ID 83251	Trisha Carlson	Trustee	4	2027
library@atcnet.net	Shirley Olsen	Trustee	4	2025
_				
Stanley Community Library Dist.	Celina Moreno	Trustee	4	2029
Lori Mitchell	Sara Lundy	Trustee	4	2025
240 Niece Ave./PO Box 230	Amy Klingler	Trustee	4	2025
Stanley, ID 83278	Alissa Arndt	Trustee	4	2027
info@stanleyidaholibrary.org	Nancy Weeks	Trustee	4	2029
208-774-2470				
Lost River Highway Dist.	Vernon Roche	Commissioner Dist 1	4	2027
Kristin Johnson	Dean Wall	Commissioner Dist 2	4	2027
600 Stockman Dr./PO Box 33	Byron Pehrson	Commissioner Dist 3	4	2025
Mackay, ID 83251				
Irhd@atcnet.net / 208-588-2824				

Special Districts with November 4, 2025 Elections

(September 5, 2025 5:00 p.m. candidate filing deadline)

Mackay School District 182 Trustees (Zones 3 and 5)
Challis Joint School District 181 Trustees (Zones 1, 3 and 4)
Butte County Joint School District 111 Trustees (Zones in Butte County)

North Custer Rural Fire District Commissioners Sawtooth Rural Fire District Commissioners South Custer Rural Fire Commissioner

Challis Cemetery District
Big Lost River Cemetery District

Cities have November 4, 2025 Elections

(8:00 a.m. August 25th – September 5th 5:00 p.m. candidate filing window)

City of Mackay Council Members

City of Challis Mayor and Council Member

City of Stanley Mayor and Council Members

City of Clayton Mayor and Council Members

Finding Custer County Special Districts

Special District Boundaries can be viewed on our County's Map Server!

Expand the District Layers section in the Layers Panel and then check the box(es) of the particular district you would like to see



Call Deputy Clerk Kristen Walker for more detailed information about subdistricts and zones etc.: (208) 879-2976